Sunday, November 25, 2012

Tantric aspects of Nath Sampradaya

As we know from the history Mahasiddha Matsyendranath was a Guru of Gorakshanath. Also Matsyendranath was a really famous and great Yogi and especially famous as a Tantric practitioner. He founded one of the big tantric sampradayas - the Kula Sampradaya - and influenced on many other doctrines. In India he is called the Kaula-Avatar - the manifestation of God who supports the way of Tantra in this Yuga (i.e. Kali-yuga now). In Nepal  he was known as Minanath (Minapa) and Avalokiteshwara, and he was included in the lists of 84 Mahasiddhas of Nathas and Buddists.
So it seems understandable that Dada Guru Matsyendranathji added so much tantric points to the Nath Yogic Tradition at the time of its formation. And that's why there is a union of Shunyata (emptiness) and Purnata (fullness) as a high perfection of God in the Nath doctrine.
Let's consider the main tantric points in Nath Sampradaya.

Friday, August 10, 2012

The human body

In the Nath Tradition the human body called vyashti-pinda or prakriti-pinda. The term "vyaṣṭi" means the  individuality, a part of the whole. The word "piṇḍa" means a sphere, an aggregation of something that forms a one mass. It's like a system consists of many different parts all of which are important and connected to each other. The human body as individual body is described by Gorakshanath as a pinda consisting of various parts:

  • bhuta-pinda or physical body, composed of five elements (bhuta) - earth (pṛthvī), water (apas/jala), fire (agni), air (vāyu) and ether (ākāśa)
  • antahkarana or mental body. Antahkarana is the inner instrument of Atman for the self-knowledge and it's consists of manas (empirical mind, receiving the information from the sense organs), ahamkara (ego, that identify itself with actor, personality), buddhi (differentiating mind that can take a decision) and, in the philosophy of Gorakhnath, chitta and chaitanya (that means intellect/memory and consciousness respectively)

Tuesday, July 31, 2012

The Granthis

The chakras in the psycho-physical human body at the dormant state form a complex intertwined structures, called Granthis, or knots, as they are "link" matter and spirit, enhancing the sense of ego. There are three main granthis in the human body, which make the trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva respectively, and they are called Brahma Granthi, Vishnu Granthi and Rudra Granthi.
In any practice to achieve success in the process of Kundalini awakening it is important to open these psychic knots. However, it is quite difficult because granthis inextricably connected with all that we are accustomed to thinking of our personality, our habits, qualities, desires. Three granthis together constitute the unconscious complexes (samskara) woven by illusion, and the weight and rigidity of the past is a strong opposition to the passage of spiritual power.

Brahma Granthi is the first major block that sadhaka need to transcend. This granthi keeps a person under the illusion of the material benefits, physical pleasures, lethargy, ignorance and uncertainty.
Among all the most powerful is an illusion of physical pleasure. This granthi plays an important role, because it is responsible for the material man's thinking. It creates a kind of attraction in the nature of the human mind. Illusions that are created by Brahma Granthi, may be represented as:
 • Permanent sexual thoughts and sexual activity
 • Permanent hunger, which is difficult to satisfy
 • Need of money, land and other tangible things

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Mandalas of consciousness

In the context of Taraka-yoga Mandala means a sphere. It's the sphere or levels of the disclosure of Universal Shakti. These spheres, also called the spaces, are experienced in the Akasha-chakra.

There are five mandalas:
Tapo-mandala. This level corresponds to Prakriti-pinda - the individual human body. It is perceived in the sushupti state.
Teja-mandala. This mandala corresponds to Mahasakara-pinda, material universe, consisting of 5 Mahabhutas (5 Gross Elements). It's a Shiva's Cosmic Body and it has 8 manifestations, namely Shiva, Bhairava, Shrikantha, Sadashiva, Ishvara, Rudra, Vishnu, Brahma. Teja-mandala is experienced in the turya state.
Jyoti-mandala corresponds to Adya-pinda, that is the basis of Mahabhutas. This level is realized during moving from turya to turyatita state of consciousness.
Parama-jyoti-mandala . This sphere corresponds to Anadya-pinda; this is the level of the realization or supreme bliss. 
Aparampara-jyoti-mandala is last, supreme mandala, that correspond to Para-pinda. This is a level of perception (or realization) of Ananta Brahman - nameless, formless, endless eternal Absolute.

The perception of these mandalas means being in samadhi, when empirical personality is dissolved and there is no any more  projection of the limited "I". In fact, the two last levels imply the state of liberation - moksha.

Om Guru ji ko Adesh!