Tuesday, July 31, 2012

The Granthis

The chakras in the psycho-physical human body at the dormant state form a complex intertwined structures, called Granthis, or knots, as they are "link" matter and spirit, enhancing the sense of ego. There are three main granthis in the human body, which make the trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva respectively, and they are called Brahma Granthi, Vishnu Granthi and Rudra Granthi.
In any practice to achieve success in the process of Kundalini awakening it is important to open these psychic knots. However, it is quite difficult because granthis inextricably connected with all that we are accustomed to thinking of our personality, our habits, qualities, desires. Three granthis together constitute the unconscious complexes (samskara) woven by illusion, and the weight and rigidity of the past is a strong opposition to the passage of spiritual power.

Brahma Granthi is the first major block that sadhaka need to transcend. This granthi keeps a person under the illusion of the material benefits, physical pleasures, lethargy, ignorance and uncertainty.
Among all the most powerful is an illusion of physical pleasure. This granthi plays an important role, because it is responsible for the material man's thinking. It creates a kind of attraction in the nature of the human mind. Illusions that are created by Brahma Granthi, may be represented as:
 • Permanent sexual thoughts and sexual activity
 • Permanent hunger, which is difficult to satisfy
 • Need of money, land and other tangible things

Saturday, July 21, 2012

Mandalas of consciousness

In the context of Taraka-yoga Mandala means a sphere. It's the sphere or levels of the disclosure of Universal Shakti. These spheres, also called the spaces, are experienced in the Akasha-chakra.

There are five mandalas:
Tapo-mandala. This level corresponds to Prakriti-pinda - the individual human body. It is perceived in the sushupti state.
Teja-mandala. This mandala corresponds to Mahasakara-pinda, material universe, consisting of 5 Mahabhutas (5 Gross Elements). It's a Shiva's Cosmic Body and it has 8 manifestations, namely Shiva, Bhairava, Shrikantha, Sadashiva, Ishvara, Rudra, Vishnu, Brahma. Teja-mandala is experienced in the turya state.
Jyoti-mandala corresponds to Adya-pinda, that is the basis of Mahabhutas. This level is realized during moving from turya to turyatita state of consciousness.
Parama-jyoti-mandala . This sphere corresponds to Anadya-pinda; this is the level of the realization or supreme bliss. 
Aparampara-jyoti-mandala is last, supreme mandala, that correspond to Para-pinda. This is a level of perception (or realization) of Ananta Brahman - nameless, formless, endless eternal Absolute.

The perception of these mandalas means being in samadhi, when empirical personality is dissolved and there is no any more  projection of the limited "I". In fact, the two last levels imply the state of liberation - moksha.

Om Guru ji ko Adesh!